Posted on

Chapati and Masala

Two nights ago I biked home at the same time as Chandani and she asked if I wanted to cook something. Do I want to cook Indian food? How long have I been waiting for this day! It was great and I picked up some good tricks. I learned how to make chapati, which is the common Indian flatbread. It’s fast and easy to make, serves a crowd, and goes well with everything.

All it takes is whole wheat flour, a pinch of salt and enough water to make a soft dough. The dough is rolled out and cooked on a flat pan.

Chandani is really good at rolling them in perfect circles. It’s like she’s been doing this for a long time or something.

 She let me roll out and cook the last one.

I burnt it.

 Na’an, often served in Indian restaurants in the US, is made of fine white flour. Apparently no one eats na’an here, as it is only served in fancy hotels and such. Chapati is the bread of choice.  The south has thinner chapatti, while in North India they eat roti. North Indians eat more roti, and not as much rice.  South India grows only rice, but in the north it’s cool enough to grow rice and wheat, so all the wheat here is sent from the north.

We also made a potato curry. A bit of chopped onion and tomato and lots of spices. Spices, masala, are stored in the masala box, which allows you to mix and match spices depending on what you need. Pretty huh? You really can’t go wrong. This one has chili powder, cinnamon, turmeric, cumin, and chicken masala. The more spice the better.

 

The curry turned out great. With a bit of cool cucumber salad, I had my first delicious Indian meal that I helped cook.

^^^^^^^^^

Last night I also made my first cup of tea! Very exciting. I had bought milk and tea and sugar and everything but was waiting for some reason. Chandani was my test-taster. She said it was a bit strong, “not bad but not great.” I replied, “That’s ok with me, at least I didn’t burn anything.”

About apassagetopondi

A young activist bookworm who loves to empower new faces and discover new places.

Leave a Reply

