Posted on

Shelter

A few days ago I moved from the Good Guesthouse to a house for more long term stays, called “Shelter.” It’s only a quick bike ride to the beach office and a block from the ocean. I have my own room, and there is a small kitchen so I can cook whenever I want. There is even a garden. My bedroom is fully furnished, although the mattress is really thin. My back has been a bit sore, but I’ve decided to overcome the pain. Shivakumar says “If it’s not the spine that is hurting then you’ll be fine. Muscles are like rebellious children.” I live with Chandani (which means moonlight) who manages the beach office library, and Krishna, a graphic artist for on the media team. Both of them have lived there for several years at least and are very nice.

Today Chandani asked me, “you are not feeling boring?” (She meant bored, of course. A few Americans in the past have had some struggles with the slower pace of life in Pondi.)

“No,” I said, “I’m great.” And I meant it.

My bedroom

the bathroom sink (spacious!)

the kitchen

About apassagetopondi

A young activist bookworm who loves to empower new faces and discover new places.

Leave a Reply

