Posted on

14 Days and Counting

“I am not the only man to seek his fortune far from home, and certainly I am not the first. Still there are times I am bewildered by each mile I have traveled, each meal I have eaten, each person I have known…As ordinary as it all appears, there are times when it is beyond my imagination.”

                                                                                            -“The Third and Final Continent” by Jhumpa Lahiri

In other exciting news: Sri Aurobindo’s biographer and author of the Many Lives of Sri Aurobindo Peter Heehs lives in Pondicherry. He works at the Aurobindo AshramArchives on Nehru Street.

Anyone who works in one of the ashram’s departments in exchange for room and board is called an ashramite. Having lived this year at the Campbell Club, a student cooperative house, has made me very interested in how the Sri Aurobindo society organizes a commune with 2,000 people.

In fact, I am busy enjoying my last few days of summer in Eugene with the Campbell Club crew:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About apassagetopondi

A young activist bookworm who loves to empower new faces and discover new places.

One response to “14 Days and Counting

  1. I’m excited that you’re excited about India. I’ll have to check up on it periodically to see what is going on with you over there. Hopefully you can bring something back from the Sri Aurobindo society that will help the co-op community in Eugene.

Leave a Reply

